United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 10, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Biden,

We write as representatives of disaster-impacted states to request that the Administration reexamine and resubmit its request for supplemental disaster recovery funding. Our constituents have a long road to recovery ahead and require federal assistance to recover and rebuild.

Last October, the Administration requested \$23.5 billion for disaster recovery. That request included funding for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Disaster Relief Fund, the Department of Housing and Urban Development's Community Development Block Grant-Disaster Recovery program, the Department of Agriculture's emergency crop loss relief program, the Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration emergency relief, the Department of Education's disaster relief, the Small Business Administration's disaster loans, and recovery funding for a number of specific disaster needs across our states. Since then, the need for recovery resources in our communities have grown and evolved. The nation has also witnessed additional crises, including the tragic collapse of the Francis Scott Key Bridge in Maryland. This funding is essential for our constituents to move forward in rebuilding their homes, lives, businesses, farms, and communities.

As such, we request that the Administration reevaluate the nation's outstanding disaster recovery funding requirements and resubmit a request for supplemental appropriations that reflects the current reality. A better understanding of the country's current urgent needs would inform Congress's work and we recommend that the Administration act as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your Administration's ongoing support and for continuing to work with us to provide critical relief to our states.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

titelel

Peter Welch United States Senator

Page 2

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Cardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

hibar A Blamin

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Maggie Hassar

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

CC: The Honorable Shalanda Young Director Office of Management and Budget

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Laphonza Butler United States Senator

anne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator